hollow turn

it came on fast; i only JUST
crossed the room now,
was just looking out
i seemed to see a great cloud of
starless nothing, spun in the
dark, but heavy, and strange

beyond the porch was still,
even for this summer dusk,
the air as thick as 
old felt, so hazy strange
and all restless as
pillows, airlessly still

i rose through the glass like a
scrap of ashy white,
a billowing tarnished moth
and moon-ward i flew
not knowing why
or what i was, or am

still – alone inside my flesh i
shiver, suddenly grown
so hollow i am ache, so
dead empty nothing only cold 

(c) 2014 by Rosetti C.
Translunary Things

NaPoWriMo Day 5 prompt: Write a “golden shovel.” You can read one of my favorite poems, Adelaide Crapsey’s The Warning, by reading the last word of each line.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I LOVE this. Both poems.

    I just wanted to thank you for visiting my blog, Rosetti C.

    I am also Bipolar and seek to end the stigma by blogging about mental health. I had no idea there was a Bipolar Blogger Network. I will have to check it out!

    Jess

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks for the feedback, Jessica!

      About the Bipolar Blogger Network: I just found it this week, but I’m excited to hook up with it. I’m new to the blogosphere but it helps in a strange way to see how many of us there are out here.

      I look forward to reading more of your posts!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Translunary Things on WordPress.com
  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Goodreads

