Shards

shard-8294_640

It's been so long.
Why are you still 
lodged in my chest?
At unguarded moments
you thump with my heart
and catch me low.

Why should I strain to catch 
the new-grass scent
of your concern?

But your perfume is empty,
blank as uncut glass
and as unsubtle.
You no longer care
to stay close enough
to see through my eyes.
You don't miss a single piece 
left behind.

I wonder if you
look into your mirror
with so little reflection.

(C)2003 & 2014 by Rosetti C.
Translunary Things
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Translunary Things on WordPress.com
  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Goodreads

