Mountain Lion Down

photo: Pixbay via Creative CommonsWe are a miserable kingdom today.
One too many defeats 
has caught us 
like a cliff-fall.

Soundless keening echoes from
one end of the house to the other,
the modest space grown monstrous,
the pit untraversable.

The lion has ceased his pacing.
He can't escape
the biting fog around 
his bowed head;
he stares but sees
only paws of clay, 
and if there are flashes
behind his tawny eyes
they only replay ad infinitum
each heart-sheathed moment
he ever stumbled.

And I?  Who am so
ill-equipped anymore 
to stand
on my own?
I offer my weak shoulder,
my contorted spine,
my depleted words:
I love you,
and I wait in the cavernous silence
for this storm to pass,
and for the aftermath
to engulf me.

(C) 2014 by Rosetti C.
Translunary Things
Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Translunary Things on WordPress.com
  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Goodreads

