Awesome Nonsense

Today’s NaPoWriMo challenge was really fun! I mean, how many times do you get the chance to write about “hairy Dijon donuts”? The challenge was to “translate” a poem based on the look and sound of the words . (The original poem follows.)

Awesome Nonsense
(with apologies to Pablo Neruda)

A pen to the jaded,
vast and mine, all ye crystal
oh tumble-rose,
oh unquiet, hairy one, pour my Miso soup
oh Colman stove like armor,
        oh combs, oh wands and OJ
see how surreal and sober Don lives
he sins like Caesar at the door.

My armor,
nose men entered the wrong way
yes, seditious nose men
like babies in togas all gooey they sang,
noses the wrong way
con men
yes, noses of Mordor
combing their muddy fugues,
like hairy Dijon donuts.

Pears in aspertame,
guard your dull zoos.
Yo, to dare to play tambourine
like Aunt Rose.

(C) 2014 by Rosetti C.
Translunary Things


Ausencia (by Pablo Neruda)
 
Apenas te he dejado,
vas en mí, cristalina
o temblerosa,
o inquieta, herida por mí mismo
o colmada de amor, como cuando tus ojos
se cierran sobre el don de la vida
que sin cesar te entrego.

Amor mío
nos hemos encontrado
sedientos y nos hemos
begido toga el agua y la sangre,
nos encontramos
con hambre
y nos mordimos
como el fuego muerde,
dejándonos heradas.

Pero espérame,
guárdame tu dulzura.
Yo te daré también
una rosa.
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Healing Slowly

     /  April 23, 2014

    This one made me chuckle. I don’t know much about writing challenges that I see on other people’s blogs. I don’t know what all the fancy abbreviations mean. I suppose they would help me strengthen my writing skills, I’ve just never pursued them. Have they helped you as a writer?

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi! This is the first time I’ve done National Poetry Writing Month. I’ve done maybe a half dozen or so of the challenges from the NaPoWriMo page, and they’ve seemed helpful if I didn’t have any ideas.

      Mostly, I just write what I’m feeling like or dealing with on that day. My life — as with my brain chemistry — gets pretty up-and-down, so I know I’m all over the place, writing-wise. I’m just glad anyone enjoys reading what I write!

      Thanks for the note! — Rosetti C

      Like

      Reply
      • Healing Slowly

         /  April 23, 2014

        I have a very active mind, myself. Sometimes I think my brain is better at multitasking than I am. I often feel like both halves of my brain are in constant communication with each other. This doesn’t always help when I’m tired and I’d like to get some sleep. On the other hand, it means that life is rarely boring. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Translunary Things on WordPress.com
  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Goodreads

