I Miss You, My Brother

I’ve recently taken a sabbatical from writing, but I want to let you know the reason.  In the fall, my younger brother was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer.  He had made an amazing recovery from pancreatitis over the last two years, after the removal of several organs (pancreas, gall bladder, spleen, and part of his duodenum). However, there was little left to work on once the cancer took hold, and he passed away on Thanksgiving morning.

It was such a surreal time.  Towards the end, my family (and I have a big one) took it in shifts to stay with him 24/7 so his wife could come and go and take care of their toddler and her own teenage daughter.  I can only imagine the nightmare this has been for her — and continues to be.  Her daughter, who is 18 and has her own mental health issues, left home the day he died and hasn’t been back in contact except for a call to the police to say “I’m okay; stop looking for me.”  My poor sister-in-law can’t even pick up all the pieces while she doesn’t know where (or how) her daughter is.  I pray she can heal.

I don’t think my brother’s loss has quite hit home for my family.  It was amazing how everyone came together during the crisis, putting differences aside … but there was just so little that could be done.  He was the most reserved of my five brothers, the most reticent, most private of us all, so the impact over the holidays (he didn’t always attend) was somewhat muted.  I imagine it will make itself felt more gradually, for a long time.  He was a sweet, kind, loving man, and an amazing father.

I love you, my brother, and I miss you.

— Rosetti

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. risinghawk

     /  January 19, 2015

    My heart goes out to you, and am blessed by your return to us here in the WP world. Perhaps you may find some healing through it. Peace . . .

    Like

    Reply
  2. Sending you love and my deepest condolences. Holding you in my heart. Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Translunary Things on WordPress.com
  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Goodreads

