I Live in a Boneyard (a riddle poem)

(I’m getting caught up after missing a few days of poetry-writing. This poem is from yesterday’s NaPoWriMo challenge: a riddle poem. Hope you enjoy!)

I live in a boneyard
lined in damp velvet
behind a gateway
of thirty-odd stones.

Facile and slippery,
judging what passes
strong am I, too,
unique and alone.

That which trips off me
can help you, can hurt you;
remember that none of it
can break your bones.

How often I forget
to hold myself still, and
I don’t always notice
how badly I drone.

(Need one more clue?
I live in a shoe,)

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. mahmoodsadaat

     /  April 14, 2015

    Plath would be proud 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Translunary Things on WordPress.com
  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Goodreads

