Terzanelle (About My Cat’s Butt)

Tortie Girl painting by B J C M StudioMy kitty’s butt is nothing like the moon
and when I’m working she must interpose.
It matters not if dinnertime is soon;

it may stem from affection I suppose
but walking ‘cross my chest, she shows her rear
and when I’m prone she has to interpose.

I spit cat hair and idly scratch her ear,
surrenduring efficiency for her
who, walking ‘cross my chest, presents her rear —

See why my every outfit’s trimmed with fur?
She drapes herself and gently butts my head;
I must give up efficiency for her

(or find someplace to write, besides in bed).
She paws the pages so I can’t ignore,
and drapes herself, and gently butts my head

it does no good to wheedle or implore,
and matters not if dinnertime is soon;
she paws the pages so I can’t ignore
her fuzzy butt … that’s nothing like the moon.

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. I really like it – especially how you subtly change the wording of the line chain but not their meaning! Very clever! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  2. So cute and funny and being a cat owner, I totally sympathize!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. My cat Miracle must be a cousin or even a sister. Really, she thinks she’s reducing my boredom, saving me from onerous tasks. This is a great form for this, as stubborn as a cat.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. This is a splendid Terzanelle, and so evocative of every cat who’s ever owned me. And I, too, write in bed.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. celticsea

     /  April 17, 2015

    I have one of those and his name is Zeus! Well done with a difficult form. Taking the lighter route probably was the better way to go. 🙂 Congratulations on being featured!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Great craftsmanship and so deliciously silly. I love it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Thanks so much, Natasa! I often write about such serious things on my blog, so it’s good to just get goofy once in a while. Glad you enjoyed it!

      Like

      Reply
  7. Elle

     /  April 17, 2015

    Ha! cleverly done. I really liked your terzanelle

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. This is great! At least your girl is lighter than my boy, he really hurts when he walks across my chest! He does it while I’m reading until I turn out the light then leaves (unless he’s already laid down across my ankles and is snoring).

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • How is it they always know where to step and put all their weight on one foot … usually someplace sensitive! Glad you liked my silliness! (I was just thinking of Riley today, getting the paintings ready for the art crawl next weekend!)

      Like

      Reply
  9. biggerthanalasagna

     /  April 21, 2015

    This is charming! I need to share with my cat-loving friends. 🙂 Congratulations for being the featured artist for day 17!
    -heidi

    Like

    Reply
  1. On Silliness and Tickling Muses | Translunary Things
  2. Day Seventeen

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Translunary Things on WordPress.com
  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Goodreads

