Conversation with a Bag of Fortune Cookies

(Day 13’s NaPoWriMo prompt is to write a poem inspired by fortune cookies. Not sure why, but I often save them, so these are all actual fortunes — you may have gotten some of them yourself! It’s interesting when you string them together.)

fortune cookieC’mon cookies; enlighten me!
I’m unhappy and I need direction.
I’ve got a whole bag, and I’m not afraid to use them.

Bend the rod while it is still hot.
What does that even mean? Try another one.

Time and patience are called for, many surprises await you.
Dumb cookie. You’re contradicting yourself. Next one.

It take courage to lead a life. Any life.
Hello, any life? Even a crappy one? For real?  Next.

A great pleasure in life is doing what others say you can’t.
Um, okay then. But what is it I should do?
More specific, please!

Don’t be afraid of opposition; remember a kite rises against the wind.
I’m not talking wind, I’m talking my life.
Need direction, remember?

Bend the rod –
No, no! Next one.

Greet your friends with open arms and happiness will come to you.
Okay, that sounds like a good start.

You are a leader. Others soon will need your inspiration.
Really? ‘Cause I don’t feel like a leader.

You are a natural leader.
I just said –

You are a source of wisdom and strength to many people.
Hmm, you’re serious, aren’t you? Three times and all that.
This means something.

You are kind-hearted, hospitable, cheerful and well-liked.
Heh. Okay, that’s cool. But there’s this one guy…

This person’s love is just and true. You may rely on it.
Hey, this is working! How many cookies left?

For light, go directly to the source of the light, not any reflections.
And … you just lost me.

Bend the rod –
Argh! What is it with you and hot rods?

Genius is more work than just being a genius.
Now my head hurts. And I’m almost out of cookies.

He who knows he has enough is rich.
And she who knows she’s eaten enough fortune cookies
maybe aughta stop.  Three more.

Whatever is worth doing at all, is worth doing well.
Eh. Two more.

Bend the rod while it is still hot.
Eye-roll. One more.
This will be the answer.
I know it.

Your lucky numbers are
30, 31, 18, 24, 7, 29

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Translunary Things on WordPress.com
  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Goodreads

